English
  |  
  |  

The Market Development Approaches Working Group (MDA WG) contributes to the goal of reproductive health (RH) supply security through a greater focus on the "total market" which, by definition, includes the private and commercial sectors. It seeks to bring about changes that allow for greater movement "up" the value chain, from subsidized to non-subsidized products. It also aims to facilitate overall market growth, greater equity through the better targeting of subsidies, and wider private sector involvement.

Since its establishment, the MDA WG has broadened global awareness of market development approaches and helped to refine current understanding of the total market for RH supplies. Technical input from the WG was instrumental in shaping IPPF/ICON’s seminal work on second tier markets; which, in turn, focused the WG's attention on the need to assure the quality of the generic supplies on which those markets largely depend.

2014 MDA Calendar

MDAWG Call

Monday, December 16th at 7:00 PST/10:00 EST/16:00 CET

MDAWG General Meeting

Before the winter holidays we will recap the events of the RHSC meeting in Delhi and the ICFP conference in Addis. In addition we will be launching the new and improved innovation fund with applications due Feb 1st, 2014. Finally we will give an overview of the calendar for the year and solicit updates from the other FP market focused working groups. This meeting will tentatively be held in mid-December

Discussion on Product Bundling

Friday, January 17th at 6:00 PST/9:00 EST/15:00 CET

Download the PowerPoint Presentation

9:00am - Overview:

  • Introduction - Aron Betru, Managing Director, Pledge Guarantee for Health

9:00-9:20am - Perspectives on bundling:

  • Karen Hardee, Senior Associate and Project Director, The EVIDENCE Project - Population Council - Bundling in a right’s based context.
  • Marcel Hendriks, Senior Procurement Advisor, I+ Solutions - Pooled procurement: experiences on pharmaceutical procurement bundling.
  • Klaus Brill, Vice President Corporate Commercial Relations, Bayer Pharma AG - The benefits of bundling: A manufacturer’s perspective.

9:00-9:20am - Perspectives on bundling:

  • Discussion - moderated by Aron Betru

Coalition experts will discuss the pros and cons of procurement bundling (negotiating the price of several commodities at once) and procurement bundling (packing, shipping, and distributing several products together).

Both procurement and product bundling will be discussed from the perspective of bundling with a single manufacturer or with several manufacturers.

We are planning for an hour long discussion with short presentations by key industry, NGO, and procurement stakeholders but the majority of the hour will be an open discussion for all members of the RHSC to provide their insights, perspectives or to ask questions about the issue.

Any ideas for projects, pilot tests, or white papers developed during the discussion can be submitted as proposals through the Innovation Fund. The discussion will be held via WebEx and we will share the recorded discussions on the RHSC website.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ian Askew or Anita Deshpande

Manufacturing CoP Phone Call

Monday, March 10th, 8:00 EDT/13:00 CET/17:30 IST/20:00 CST

At our Delhi meeting we experienced great success in holding discussions by area of professional interest so we will hold a call for the suppliers in the MDAWG to discuss issues of interest to them.

Discussion on Marketing to Youths

Monday, March 24th, 7:00 PDT/10:00 EDT/15:00 CET

Download the PowerPoint Presentation

Agenda

  • Overview: Lester Coutinho, Country Program Advisor, Packard Foundation – 5 mins
  • “The It Takes Two Campaign”: Janna Oberdorf, Director, Advocacy and Communications, Women Deliver – 5-7 mins
  • “Empowering Youth Using Data and Advocacy”: Anabella Sanchez, Regional Coordinator Latin America, JSI/DELIVER – 5-7 mins
  • “Responding to the needs of Nigeria’s young persons”: Dr. Uwem Esiet, Founder, Action Health Inc. – 5-7mins
  • Moderated Discussion: 40 mins

We are planning for an hour long discussion with short presentations by key industry, NGO, and procurement stakeholders but the majority of the hour will be an open discussion for all members of the RHSC to provide their insights, perspectives or to ask questions about the issue.

Any ideas for projects, pilot tests, or white papers developed during the discussion can be submitted as proposals through the Innovation Fund. The discussion will be held via WebEx and we will share the recorded discussions on the RHSC website.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ian Askew or Anita Deshpande

MDAWG General Meeting

Monday, April 7th, 7:00 PDT/10:00 EDT/16:00 CEST

The agenda will include feedback on topic based discussions and updates on Innovation Fund Grants awarded in Round 1 of 2014.

Innovation Fund deadline

Applications due from applicant organization to Ian Askew, MDAWG Chair: Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Discussion on Capturing Private Sector Data

This discussion will include presentations on the progress of several data collection initiatives. This is an opportunity to understand what data is available, from which sources and how the data can be validated. We will also discuss what additional things the Coalition can do to support data collection initiatives.

We are planning for an hour long discussion with short presentations by key industry, NGO, and procurement stakeholders but the majority of the hour will be an open discussion for all members of the RHSC to provide their insights, perspectives or to ask questions about the issue. Any ideas for projects, pilot tests, or white papers developed during the discussion can be submitted as proposals through the Innovation Fund. The discussion will be held via WebEx and we will share the recorded discussions on the RHSC website.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ian Askew or Anita Deshpande

Discussion on Universal Access and Health Insurance

We are planning for an hour long discussion with short presentations by key industry, NGO, and procurement stakeholders but the majority of the hour will be an open discussion for all members of the RHSC to provide their insights, perspectives or to ask questions about the issue. Any ideas for projects, pilot tests, or white papers developed during the discussion can be submitted as proposals through the Innovation Fund. The discussion will be held via WebEx and we will share the recorded discussions on the RHSC website.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ian Askew or Anita Deshpande


Workstreams

The MDA WG is currently engaged in the following workstreams:

Working Group Leader

Ian Askew
Director of Reproductive Health Services and Research
Population Council
Email: iaskew(at)popcouncil.org

Secretariat contact

Anita Deshpande
Senior Programme Officer, Market Shaping
Washington, DC, USA
Email: adeshpande(at)rhsupplies.org

BULLETIN BOARD

01.11.12 Total Market Initiative (TMI) Primer now available

New resource from the MDA


MDA Key Issues Guide

Interested in learning more about market development approaches? Click here for useful background information.

Global Markets Visibility Project

In partnership with CHAI we are launching a global markets visibility project.
Find out more!